Toole County Logo


226 1st St South, Suite 201 • Shelby, MT 59474 • 406-424-8310


Each Toole County Commissioner is elected to serve a six year term. Elections are held every two years, ensuring board continuity. Joe Pehan represents District One, Mary Ann Harwood represents District Two and Deb Brandon represents District Three. Commissioners are elected at large by Toole County voters.

Toole County Commissioner Deb Brandon Toole County Commissioner Joe Pehan Toole County Commissioner Mary Ann Harwood
Deb Brandon, Chair Joe Pehan Mary Ann Harwood

The Commissioners are responsible for exercising the County's administrative, executive, and legislative powers as outlined in the Montana State Constitution and state statutes. This includes appointment of department heads and members of supervisory boards and committees.

The Commission supervises the administration of County government; approves the County budget; levies taxes; issues bonds; investigates claims against the County; administers subdivision review and approval; and supervises road construction and maintenance.

The Commissioners set policy for County government, represent the County, maintain County property, invest County funds, and authorize and sign all contracts obligating the County.

The Commissioners are charged with the duties of managing the business and concerns of the County in the best interest of the residents and performing all acts and duties, as required by law, necessary to fully discharge the duties and responsibilities of County government.


Commissioner's 2018 Meeting Minutes

January 4

January 25

February 8

February 22

March 1

March 22

March 29

April 5

April 18

April 30

May 11

May 17

May 24

June 4

June 11

June 21

June 28

July 5

July 19

July 30

August 6

August 9

August 23

September 10

September 27

October 15

October 18

October 29





Commissioner's Archive


Resources & Links

Montana State Legislature


Montana Association of Counties


National Association of Counties


Copyright © 2018, Toole County Montana - All Rights Reserved.

Website Design by Hi Line Web Design